#WhoIAm

Doubt has been whispering in my own voice these past few months.  In my small church in my small town, I have been believing (because of someone else’s words spoken in passing) that I am not liked by other women, that I should not, could not teach a class, or probably even participate in one.  

As I have read A Confident Heart these last few weeks, I have heard God whispering to me.

He tells me that I am a child of God.  (John 1:12)  

He tells me that I do not need to fear, for He is with me. (Isaiah 41:10)

He tells me that I am a part of the body of Chris.t (1 Corinthians 12:7)

He tells me to always be joyful, to let others see my gentleness, to stop worrying and start praying.  (Philippians 4:5,6)

Two weeks ago, I looked at a Bible study book to consider leading a follow up group from a women’s retreat I attended this fall.  Someone else borrowed the book from me, and somehow, in the passing around of the book, a rumor started that I was committed to leading the class.  A friend felt betrayed because I hadn’t told her.  I felt betrayed because people were talking about me instead of to me.  And my own voice began whispering to me again, “See, these people don’t like you.  They tell lies about you.  They don’t think you can lead this group.  They don’t want you around.”  But this time, I will not listen to that voice.  I have agreed to lead the first session of the study.  Thirteen women are interested in coming, though not all will be able to attend.  And I will listen to God’s voice.  Maybe another woman will lead Session 2.  Maybe God will ask me to continue leading the group.  But I will not cower away because of misunderstandings and my own doubts.  I will trust God as he leads me in the direction He wants me to go.  This other stuff really doesn’t matter.

God whispers to me “I will meet all your needs.  I will meet them in keeping with my wonderful riches that come to you because you belong to Christ Jesus.”  (Philippians 4:19)

No more worrying, no more cowering.  From now on, just trusting and believing!

6 comments on “#WhoIAm

  1. The confidence you have gained is clearly seen through your words… keep going forward.. Saying no to doubts and yes to faith..

  2. I am inspired and challenged by your honesty and perseverance!! I have not stood well through that type of testing. I have cowered and retreated. I am so happy for you that you are listening to the voice of our Heavenly Father and not the doubts!! 🙂

    • Thank you for your comment. I am very familiar with retreating and cowering myself, but God did not give us a spirit of timidity. That’s somebody else’s trick. I pray you can say no to doubt and yes to God!

Leave a comment